In 1844, a map of the area registered a building called “Casa dos Chinas” House of Chinises. Probably a remnant of this primitive experience.
This vocation probably explains why the mayor, Pereira Passos, in 1903, under the project of the architect Luis Rei, built the pavilion of Vista Chinesa in mortar by copying the bamboo on that side of the road.
Further up, on the same Road of the Chinese Vista, a place prepared to serve like resting place in the frequent walks of the imperial family gained the name of Table of the Emperor.
The trail has easy access and is fully paved, leading to the gazebo on a demanding, steep climb, but it pays off with one of the most beautiful peaks in town!